Skip to main content
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Visit us for our Undergraduate Open House on May 24. More information »

- Are Northeastern Officers REALLY Police Officers?

- How do I compliment or complain about an Officer?

- What do I do if I get a ticket from a NEIU Police Officer?

- What do I do if I get a ticket from the NEIU Parking Office?

- I locked my keys in my office – what do I do?

- Where can I park?

- If I am involved in or witness an incident on campus what should I do?

- I had an accident on campus - where should I file a report?

- How do I get a copy of a police report?

- Can I make a police report over the phone?

- I know the campus is safe but I do not feel safe walking to my vehicle at night—what do I do?

- When can I be fingerprinted?

- How will I know that there is an emergency on campus?

- How do I get into my office or classroom after hours?

 

- Are Northeastern Officers REALLY Police Officers?

Yes. Officers of the Northeastern Illinois University Police Department are academy trained and certified in the same manner as all other public law enforcement officers in the state of Illinois. The department offers 24-hour patrol services to the campus and the surrounding neighborhood year round. The department is governed by state statute that gives our officers the same authority as municipal police officers.

Back to top

- How do I compliment or complain about an Officer?

You can compliment or complain about a University police officer by sending an email to the Chief of University Police.

Back to top

- What do I do if I get a ticket from a NEIU Police Officer?

A. If your ticket is marked “CDP,” you must choose one of the following three options:

OPTION A: Plead guilty and DO NOT APPEAR IN COURT

Pay a $120 fine, unless the ticket is for:

  • Speeding 21-30 mph over the speed limit, then pay $140; or
  • Failure to wear seat belt, then pay $60.

Selection of this option generally results in a conviction, which is reported to the Illinois Secretary of State for entry on your public driving record. The following violations, however, will not result in either a report to the Illinois Secretary of State, or if reported, will not result in a chargeable violation (which counts toward a driver's license suspension) being entered on your driving record:

  • Obstruction of traffic
  • Unattended vehicle
  • No headlights, when required
  • Operating a commercial vehicle on a boulevard or Lake Shore Drive
  • Failure to display state registration plates or city sticker
  • Violating a funeral procession
  • Opening a vehicle door in traffic
  • Failure to wear a seat belt
  • Following a fire apparatus too closely

OPTION B: Plead guilty, request court supervision; attend a four-hour driver safety course, DO NOT APPEAR IN COURT

  • Pay $147 unless ticket is for speeding 21-30 miles over the limit—pay $167; if ticket is for failure to wear seatbelt—pay $87.
  • Fill out the traffic safety school registration form and return it in the envelope with your ticket payment.
  • Complete the four-hour driver safety course within four months.

Selection of this option eliminates the reporting of a chargeable conviction on your public driving record with the Illinois Secretary of State.

WARNING: Not all persons are eligible to attend Traffic Safety School. In some instances, improper selection of option "B" will result in a conviction on a driver's record.

The driver safety course is offered by the Traffic Safety School of the Center for Public Safety of Northwestern University. This program is available at locations throughout the city of Chicago and suburban Cook County. Classes are scheduled Monday through Saturday. Consult the registration material for times and locations of classes. The 4-hour program is also offered online. However, not all persons are eligible to attend Traffic Safety School. For further information, you can call Traffic Safety School at (847) 467-6820.

OPTION C: Plead not guilty and REQUEST A DATE FOR TRIAL

If you wish to contest the charges, you must choose Option C on the envelope provided and mail it to the Clerk of the Circuit Court within seven days of receiving the ticket.

You are responsible for notifying the court of any address change. Please mark the "I HAVE MOVED" box and enter your correct address on the envelope before mailing. This should be done in all cases where the address written by the officer is not where you wish to receive your mail. Please mark this box and provide complete information if your apartment or unit number is missing or incorrect. Please note that the United States Postal Service will not deliver mail to a multi-unit building unless an apartment or unit number is included.

The Clerk of the Circuit Court will accept your plea of not guilty and the clerk will notify you of the court date by mail.

If you do not receive notification of your court date within 21 days from the date you mailed your request, please call the courthouse where your ticket is pending to learn the date. You are responsible for following the progress of your case. Failure to do so may result in a conviction being entered and reported to the Illinois Secretary of State. In some instances, your driving privileges will be suspended.

B. If your ticket indicates a court date:

Show up to court on the indicated date, time, and location. For more information on traffic court, go to the Clerk of the Circuit Court's website.     

Back to top

- What do I do if I get a ticket from the NEIU Parking Office?

For information regarding paying parking tickets, please contact the Parking Office located on the northeast end of the parking garage. They can be reached at (773) 442-4114 (ext. 4114 on campus).

Back to top

- I locked my keys in my office – what do I do?

Call (773) 442-4100 (ext. 4100 on campus) to request your office to be unlocked. Please wait at the location until an officer arrives. Be prepared to show identification.

Back to top

- Where can I park?

For parking information please contact the Parking Office located on the northeast end of the parking garage. They can be reached at (773) 442-4114 (ext. 4114 on campus).

Back to top

- If I am involved in or witness an incident on campus what should I do?

Please call (773) 442-5511 (ext. 5511 on campus) or come into the University Police Department immediately; all incidents should be reported in a timely fashion to University Police.

Back to top

- I had an accident on campus - where should I file a report?

All accidents that occur on University property should be reported the University Police Department. Please call the department at (773) 442-5511 (ext. 5511 on campus) immediately if medical attention is needed. You will be given further instructions upon calling.

Back to top

- How do I get a copy of a police report?

In the case of automobile accidents, please be advised that only your insurance company may request a copy of the police report.

In other incidents, you may request a summary of any police report by completing a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request form. Ordinarily, we do not make reports available to anyone outside the criminal justice system—you will be provided with a summary of the report.

All FOIA requests should be forwarded to: Northeastern Illinois University University Counsel, C200 5500 N. St. Louis Ave. Chicago, Illinois 60625 Phone: (773) 442-5219

Under the Freedom of Information Act (5 ILCS 140), records in the possession of public agencies may be accessed by the public upon request. The Act defines a public record as, "all records, reports, forms, writings, letters, memoranda, books, papers, maps, photographs, microfilms, cards, tapes, recordings, electronic data processing records, electronic communications, recorded information and all other documentary materials pertaining to the transaction of public business, regardless of physical form or characteristics, having been prepared by or for, or having been or being used by, received by, in the possession of, or under the control of any public body."

Some records are, however, not subject to release via the FOIA process. These types of records are described under 5 ILCS 140, Sections 2.15, 7, and 7.5. Some records may also be subject to provisions imposed by other state statutes. The FOIA process for disclosure of information does not supersede other applicable statutory and judicial mandates.

Back to top

- Can I make a police report over the phone?

No. Depending on the situation, either we will have a police officer come meet you at your location or you will be asked to come into the University Police Department to speak with a police officer.

Back to top

- I know the campus is safe but I do not feel safe walking to my vehicle at night—what do I do?

The University Police Department offers a safety escort service. Please call the department at (773) 442-4100 (ext. 4100 on campus) and give your current location on campus and your vehicle’s location. An officer will meet you at your location and escort you to your vehicle.

Back to top

- When can I be fingerprinted?

The University Police Department provides fingerprinting services to University students, faculty and staff when there is a police officer available. Be sure to bring a government issued photo ID with you, as well as any fingerprint cards or special instructions for the officer. There is a fee of $10 for any non-University related purposes. We ask that you call (773) 442-4100 (ext. 4100 on campus) to verify that there is an officer available prior to traveling to the University Police Department.

Back to top

- How will I know that there is an emergency on campus?

The University has implemented several different emergency communications methods operating under N-Alert. During an emergency, you may see messages displayed on message boards throughout campus, receive emails, text or voicemail (only if you signed up for N-Alert through your NEIUport account), or receive verbal instructions from police officers or other staff.

Back to top

- How do I get into my office or classroom after hours?

You must come into the University Police Department and provide your Northeastern ID. Access is limited to faculty or students who have been provided 24-hr access from their department chair.

Back to top

University Police

Contact The Police

T (773) 442-4100

F (773) 442-4110

Contact The Police

Back to Top