home

Mark your calendar

ANGELINA PEDROSO CENTER FOR DIVERSITY AND INTERCULTURAL AFFAIRS - Ext. 5445

  • 16th Annual Asian American Heritage Conference
    Tuesday, April 5 through Saturday, April 9
    Various locations
    Free

OFFICE OF CULTURAL EVENTS - Ext. 4636

  • Jewel Box Series - Bax-Chung Duo
    Friday, April 15 at 8 p.m.
    Fine Arts Center Recital Hall
    General admission: $25; faculty and staff: $15; students: $10

DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC AND DANCE PROGRAM - Ext. 5900

  • 35th Anniversary Celebration: Controlled Chaos - Venetia Stifler, professor, music, and CDI/Concert Dance Inc.
    Friday, April 1 at 7 p.m. and Saturday, April 2 at 8 p.m.
    Auditorium
    General admission: $20; students and seniors: $15; NEIU students, faculty and staff: free
  • Student recital
    Thursday, April 7 at 3:05 p.m.
    Fine Arts Center Recital Hall
    Free
  • Faculty recital by pianist Inna Faliks, instructor, music
    Friday, April 8 at 7:30 p.m.
    Fine Arts Center Recital Hall
    Free
  • Brass Showcase - Directed by Travis Heath, assistant professor, music
    Tuesday, April 12 at 3:05 p.m.
    Fine Arts Center Recital Hall
    Free
  • NEIU Opera Workshop: "The Secret Garden" - Directed by Sasha Gerritson, instructor, music; Conducted by R. Shayne Cofer, professor and chair, music
    Wednesday, April 13 through Saturday, April 16 at 7:30 p.m.
    Auditorium
    General admission: $10: NEIU students, faculty and staff: free
  • Student Recital
    Thursday, April 14 at 3:05 p.m.
    Fine Arts Center Recital Hall
    Free
  • Voice Showcase - Students from the studios of Kathy Cowan, instructor, music; Robert Heitzinger, assistant professor, music; and Phyllis Hurt, professor, music
    Monday, April 18 at 7:30 p.m.
    Fine Arts Center Recital Hall
    Free
  • Woodwind Showcase - Directed by Rose Sperazza, associate professor, music
    Tuesday, April 19 at 3:05 p.m.
    Fine Arts Center Recital Hall
    Free
  • Songwriters Showcase: Original songs by NEIU students - Directed by Nelson Mandrell, associate professor, music
    Friday, April 19 at 7:30 p.m.
    Auditorium
    Free
  • NEIU Varsity Big Band - Directed by Mayo Tiana, instructor, music
    Wednesday, April 20 at 7:30 p.m.
    Auditorium
    Free
  • NEIU Percussion Ensemble - Directed by Owen Clayton Condon, instructor, music
    Thursday, April 21 at 3:05 p.m.
    Auditorium
    Free
  • NEIU Guitar Ensemble - Directed by Brian Torosian, instructor, music
    Thursday, April 21 at 7:30 p.m.
    Auditorium
    Free
  • Percussion Showcase - Students from the studio of Owen Clayton Condon, instructor, music
    Tuesday, April 26 at 3:05 p.m.
    Auditorium
    Free
  • NEIU Chorus and Chamber Singers with pianist Inna Faliks, instructor, music; Conducted by Michael Melton, instructor, music
    Tuesday, April 26 at 7:30 p.m.
    Auditorium
    Free
  • NEIU Wind Ensemble and NEIU Varsity Big Band - Conducted by R. Shayne Cofer, professor and chair, music; Directed by Mayo Tiana, instructor, music
    Thursday, April 28 at 7:30 p.m.
    Auditorium
    Free
  • NEIU Orchestra featuring the winners of the NEIU solo competition - Conducted by Joseph Glymph, instructor, music
    Friday, April 29 at 7:30 p.m.
    Auditorium
    Free

STAGE CENTER THEATRE - Ext. 4274

  • "Bleacher Bums"
    Thursday, April 14 - Saturday, April 16; Thursday, April 21 - Saturday, April 23; and Thursday, April 28 - Saturday, April 30 at 7:30 p.m.
    Stage Center Theatre
    General admission: $10; seniors and students: $8; children: $6; NEIU faculty, staff and students: free

FINE ARTS CENTER GALLERY - Ext. 4944

  • Student Art Exhibition
    Monday, April 4 through Friday, April 29
    Reception and awards: Friday, April 15 from 6 to 9 p.m.
    Fine Arts Center Gallery
    Free
April 2011